Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

3D printing and creativity

Hi everybody,

First of all sorry for my english, is not my native language so, I will probably make some mistakes.

I'm doing an school project about 3D printing and creativity. I'm trying to find out the relation between this two concepts.

Right now, my work consists in finding the interconnection in 3D printing and creativity. I'm also creating and designing stuff and upload them to the most popular webpages to know how internet can help me to have more and more downloads. You maybe have some ideas to add in it!

I would like to know if you have some ideas in your mind.

And I'm also want to know what you think about 3D printing and creativity.

Thank you all!

Technologist
    OK..., I'll go first.

First, I'm very new to 3d printing, and I know others are very much further along than I am technically, as well as in regards to "creative" applications of 3d printing.

I am a recovering Silicon Valley refugee. I've been involved w/ computer tech since 4th grade (over 44 years). Incorporating computer tech into daily life in one way or another has become deeply ingrained, and I make no apology for that.

Just the same, these days, I'm trying very hard to carve out places for new things in my life, and artistic expression is one of those things. At the moment, I'm exploring pottery as a means to that end.

I have very little or no artistic background/training/skills, and yet without much thought, 3d printing seemed a natural way to bring together my past skills with my new pottery hobby. It is helping me to find my "artistic" voice by allowing me to use the skills I DO have (computer/technical) to help give expression and to help me craft a physical manifestation of something I otherwise might not attempt, or which would consume too much time.