Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Student
    Add BradR97 on Thingiverse

Question Messy overhangs

Hi,

I'm new to 3d printing and I have stumbled accross some problems that I cant seem to get my head around.

Just incase it's needed, I have the Da Vinci 1.0A with Repetier 0.92. I use Slic3r and Repetier Host on my PC.

Recently I flashed my printer to use Repetier and it's all going good, I have had a few problems that I have had to Google but they have been resolved after much tinkering. The problem I have at the moment is that my prints arent very good at all when it comes to overhangs.

I have tried to reduce the temperature in the Da Vinci (to 205C for extruding which works fine as seen in the picture & 105C for the print bed) but it's not making a vast amount of difference. It seems as though it is too hot and it is drooping down. The edges also seem to "swell up" too and the nozzle pushes it back down, it's not delaminating and its not curling. One thing I have noticed is that I think it only happens towards the back of the printer - I'm certainly no expert so any help or info is appreciated!!

I have attached some pictures of a squirrel I printed using this design: http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:600429. I printed this in black ABS from printME3D.com

Does anyone know how to resolve the issue of it looking like a bowl of spaghetti?

Now, thats alot of writing. If I've forgotten something please let me know

20150713_101224.jpg20150713_101257.jpg20150713_101336.jpg20150713_101150.jpg
    Last edited by BradR97; 07-13-2015 at 04:23 AM. Reason: Added different images

Student
    Any help would be great, it's driving me insane -_-

Staff Engineer