Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Student

CTC clone help needed

Hi,
    I'm new to 3D printing and bought a CTC dual clone off eBay and am having trouble(s). The seller is useless and will not help so I'm on my own.

It worked very good for two days.
    Then the #2 (left) extruder quit. #1 (right) extruder still working.
    Then ReplicatorG gCode said it looked for 2 tools but could find only 1. I checked my drivers and have "replicator dual" selected.
    Next I started having temperature problems and received "over temp" warning.
    Now... every time I start the printer it goes into "high temp, please shut down". and will not re-set.
    I disconnected the thermocouple wires from the "hot end" and ohmed them out for continuity, they are not "open". While disconnected machine still gave over temp warning.

I do know a little about electronics (model railroader) and have meters and such but know nothing about 3D machines.

I need help and advice on what to look for next and where to purchase replacement parts.

Thanks,
    Don

Student
    A little follow up....
    I got brave and unplugged all the connections from the mother board except the "power in" and the LCD display. It still beeped and said "over heated".
    I have to think it's a bad mother board...but where to find one ??
    Don

Senior Engineer
    It probably will say that without a temperature sensor in there.

Super Moderator curious aardvark's Avatar
    well replug all the things back on the board and see if it's started working.
    9 times out of 10 these things are a loose connection.

Student
    I found out that the temp sensors are built into the motherboard.

Student
    No luck on that "fix" tried it all, no luck.
    I did find a USA based company that will help. I described the problem and was told it is a bad motherboard. I ordered a new one.

Senior Engineer