Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Something failed, now prints are far too thin

RigidBot 10x10x10, Repetier with Slic3r

I was printing fine for about a month (with some newbie-related difficulties), and then "something" happened. Every job just started printing far too thinly, things started coming out as a spiderweb that would vaguely resemble my job if I was lucky. Cranking up the extruder rate to ridiculous levels would help slightly but nothing close to a solid object.

I tried everything I could think of. Reinstalling the software, replacing the firmware, setting up a completely new computer to control it, etc. I assume it's mechanical but I'm not sure how. I'm a newbie to 3d printers but have a general understanding of electronics. I've been hesitant to start ripping things apart unguided however in case I make things even worse.

I'm not sure if it's common, or was happening before the issue, but I've noticed bits of PLA 'shavings' on top of where the filament feeds into the extruder. Is that normal, or indicative of too much resistance as it's being pulled in?

I can take a video of it printing later tonight if anybody's willing to help.

Quote Originally Posted by Wulf View Post
    I can take a video of it printing later tonight if anybody's willing to help.
    A couple short videos will get you lots of insight. Most likely, a couple small changes will get you back to where you want to be.

The piece as seen in Repetier-Host:

The monstrosity as seen in reality:

Any input? Thanks.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Is the video quality good enough to get an idea of what's happening? If anybody has suggestions for a better recording angle let me know.

Firstly, level your bed. It's easy to see that on one side, the first layer isn't sticking as the nozzle is too high, but on the other the filament is being spread too thinly on the bed as the nozzle is too low. Level your bed and get the first layer correct.