Close

Delta 3D Printing wafer like prints?

Hey Guys,

I'm new to this forum so apologizes if this is posted under the wrong form but i have just finished building my first delta 3d printer and have been having some issues with the filament.

it seams like ether the filament is not coming out evenly or it is not sticking to the other layers properly, i have attached a photo bellow. My extrude is 235 degrees and my heat bed is at 110 degrees.

if someone could point me in the right direction that would be great!

10818600_10154859484585585_1781300581_n.jpg10808219_10154859484680585_1507896370_n.jpg

I am just beginning myself. But I assume you are using ABS because of the heated bed and high extruder temperature. That would not be needed for PLA. It could also be that your filament has absolved water. But I do not believe that is a problem with ABS

Your right I'm using abs and I'm starting to think that switching to PLA might be a better option. It also crossed my mind that the ABS absorbed some water however its a brand new spool so I thought the chances weren't very likely.

Could it be to due to my extruder filament settings in slic3r?

Technologist
    Check your e-steps. It looks like you may be under-extruding. This could also be caused by your extruder skipping. PLA is normally the material with the reputation for absorbing water. I've never had a problem with ABS and live in a tropical environment.

Hi Kdog, could you elaborate a bit more on the esteps and any recommendations on how I check if my extruder is skipping?

Thats pleasing to hear about the absorption as I also live in the tropics and thought maybe it was the humidity but guess I can rule that out

Technologist