Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Prusa i3v help

Prusa i3v help

So I just assembled a prusa i3v kit from makerfarm, and I had a couple questions.
    1)When I print something, the top of the part has gaps between where the filament was extruded. How can I fix this?
    2)Is there a way to manually lift the z axis using the LCD? There are options to move the X and Y axis,but not Z. Is it in another place?
    Thanks for the help, as I am new to 3d printing.

One more thing: Is there a way to see how much time is left during a print? The LCD says how much time has passed, but not how much time is left.

Add printbus on Thingiverse
    1) I assume you're using Slic3r as your slicing software? I found Cura does better at the top layer fill. Regardless, have you calibrated your extruder to make sure you're extruding the amount of filament that you should be?
    2) Just select something other than 10 mm movement steps on the LCD. The Marlin software is set up to NOT allow Z-movement at the 10-mm increment. If you go to 1mm or 0.1mm, the Z-axis will show up as something you can select.
    3) If you're printing from host software like Repetier-Host, you can get an idea of how much time is remaining. I don't think you have a way to see that on the LCD display.

Ok so I tried out cura and it seems to be working much better. However, on a few of the things that I have printed the printer has not returned to the home position, and it has just sat on top of the print and bobbed filament onto the finished print. Can I change something to fix this? Also, I am getting alot of strings after switching to cura. Do I need to mess with the retraction settings or is there something else? Thanks a ton for your help.