Close

Printrbot Makers Kit 2014 (Simple) - I feel like the print quality could be better?

Hi everyone, I am completely brand new to 3d printing, and I've done the obligatory google searching, and I'm still at a slight loss...

I'm hoping I can show the experts here what I'm getting, and perhaps someone can instantly know whats up, as it might be obvious to some of you?
    There are four issues I'm having.

Btw, at this stage i'm considering that I might be fractionally delivering too much filament? extruding too much perhaps? But that's just a gut feeling with no real thought. Its also the only thing ive not tried lol...

Issue 1:
    As I tweak the settings the biggest and most reoccurring issue I'm getting is that because of the way the software 'Slices' and creates the g-code, the printer creates 'steps' as it moves from one task to an other... While completing a single step, there is a 'bumping' effect as one line meets the others, and this is creating 'seams' in the work which is noticeable from the outside as an aesthetically annoying element to 3d printing. however, during the print, these 'bumps' are meeting, and creating a vertical lift of the layer. I sometimes hear the tip of the extruder clashing with it as it moves across completing layer 10, as it clashes from ever heightening lumps created by layers 1-9.

one section meeting another 'bumping'.jpgHow it should have looked.jpg

You can even see this issue on the skirt, as is moves from the outer ring, to the inner ring... In the following picture, you can see some other issues I'm having.
    IMG_2200.jpg

Issue 2:
    In the above picture you can see that the top left of the skirt has a 'curling' issue on the inside of that ring it makes. Could whatever this issue is be attributing to the other issues described above and below?

Issue 3: