Close

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Some issues with new MakerFarm Prusa 8 i3v

Hello all!

So, I am new to this whole 3d printing thing, I just got my printer all setup today and I am having a few issues.

I have a Prusa 8 i3v with 0.40MM 1.75mm Hexagon head

1: My prints aren't sticking to the glass I tried the hairspray method and it didn't help much.

2: The filament is barely extruding, and when it does it curls up.

3: The extruder is kind of popping off the V rail.

I'm not sure how to level the bed exactly, I just made the head EXTREMELY close to the bed.

I am currently trying to print with PLA and the temps I'm using is 250c for hot end and 80c for the bed. I tried with 220c for the hot end but it was even worse and if I go higher than 250c the curling issue remains.

I will post a video and some pics soon of the extruder to show how it just comes off the rail.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Something is definitely wrong there. You should not have to use temps that high for PLA? I use 50 or 60 for the HBP on my Prusa 13, my son uses 40. We use 3mm extruders on our Prusas but I have never had to go above 220 degrees. Are you sure your thermistor are set in all the way in your hot end? I might try and get a real temp reading with a laser thermometer? I print right on blue painters tape all day long? Wipe with alcohol if you want it to REALLY stick. Curling of the filament might mean you have dirt in the nozzle? Try cleaning that out.

Add printbus on Thingiverse
    I have the same extruder setup on my i3v. Comments and suggestions:

1. Are you feeling the heat bed getting hot? Or at least pretty warm? I've had no adhesion issues with PLA from three different sources sticking on the glass when running the bed at 70 degrees, hairspray or not.