Close

Need reccomendations, have fairly large budget

First I am new to 3d printing, and after countless hours reading reviews and taking salesmens word for how good their printers are, I decided to join a forum of like minded people. Here is my situation. I work for a very large packaging company that makes labels for consumer products, from single serve drink bottles, to multi use large laundry detergent containers. I have been tasked with finding a printer that can print large objects 300x300x400 would be max build size (i know large) and I need the printer to be fast. the idea presented to me is, we want to bring in a customer, print their container design and add a label to it so they can take back with them a complete mockup same day. I have looked at countless printers and have not had a lot of luck getting reasonable responses out of some sales men. Can I get some reccomendations on 3d printers that can build a large model "fast"? I have a budget of around $50,000.
    Last edited by brewbalance; 10-23-2017 at 09:11 AM.

Super Moderator curious aardvark's Avatar
    oohh $50,000.

we need to think about this.
    How clean and shiny do the printed containers need to be ?

Reason being for that money you can get an sls printer so you'd get super smooth prints, maybe not that large a build volume and fast they're not.

For hollow and fast and that kind of size - realistically your best bet is probably going to be fdm.
    Have a chat with the 3dp platform folks. https://3dplatform.com/
    Huge printers, well within your price range and thoroughly great people to deal with.

The other people to have a chat with are Hyrel . The hydra 645 would be large enough. Not sure how they match up on print speed, versaitlity definitely. Hyrels can print with just about anything, not just filament :-)
    Hmm, webiste claims around 50mm/s which is nowhere fast enough. shame. Still worth a chat.