Close

Microsoft 3D Builder

Absolute beginner just discovering 3D modeling. My first project involves the merging of three shapes: a ring... not a torus dissected vertically to render a horseshoe and horizontally so as not to render a tapered edge, a cylinder with a center void so as to connect with the ring base. Have looked through much documentation but none match the needs of this project. Hoping for some guidance.

Super Moderator curious aardvark's Avatar
    If that's the software that comes with windows 10 - don't bother with it.
    Very limited and well, it's a free microsoft app so is unlikely to work well or do what you want.

You'd be much better off downloading a free cad package.
    Openscad will do what you want very easily, as will most of the free drawing based cad packages.
    Have a look round the forum - lots of different packages out there.

Add Roberts_Clif on Thingiverse
    I Prefer Fusion 360 Download Enthusiast (Free), (Every Year Free licensing here)

This Is one of the Best Free programs I have downloaded since They released Toonz for Free.

Staff Engineer
    Would this be the type of construction you seek?

Code:
    $fn = 90;
    ring_diameter = 20;
    ring_wall = 4;
    ring_height = 5;
    clearance = 0.2;
    pin_diameter = ring_diameter;
    pin_height = 40;
    ring_placement = 20; // offset from origin for center of gap
    addabit = 0.1; // floating point error prevention

module ring(){
        difference(){
            cylinder(d = ring_diameter, h = ring_height);
            translate([0, 0, - addabit / 2])
            cylinder(d = ring_diameter - ring_wall / 2, h = ring_height + addabit);
            translate([ring_diameter / 2, 0, ring_height / 2])
            cube([ring_diameter + addabit, ring_diameter + addabit, ring_height + addabit], center = true);
        }
    }

module pin(){
        difference(){
            cylinder(d = pin_diameter, h = pin_height);
            translate([0, 0, ring_placement])