Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

NEED TO SCAN AND PRINT, starting from zero

I work on a steamboat in the engineering department. I have zero 3D experience but think maybe a scanner and printer would save us money on buying certain plastic parts, such as a breaker handle that costs us $450 a pop. I need a simple system that can scan a part and print it out without alot of user inteligence lol. My budget is $3,000 or little more to start. Any advice for this newbie? Thanks.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Staff Engineer
    While that will work to produce a rough facsimile of the things you're scanning, if you want to produce working mechanical parts, you need to start with clean geometry. A scan can give you a head-start on that by capturing points on the surface which can be used to reconstruct the "design intent" of the part, and a clean CAD file you can then print. This process is called Reverse Engineering. It requires not only a scanner but some specialized software, and a trained operator to use it - it's not going to work without some of that "user intelligence".

Ok. Looks like I will need to do some learnin. I have used Painthop befrebut that's about it. So can you recommend a complete package including printer, scanner, software in which I could get started with? Thanks.

Add Marm on Thingiverse
    Well, I'm the resident SketchUp flag waiver here, so I can recommend that, especially cause it's free. There's also a few other ones too.

But as Awerby mentioned, that geometry is so simple, I bet you could have a working model of it after 1 day in SU. I don't think you need a scanner, you'd spend too much time cleaning up the artifacts. Invest in a set of digital calipers instead and get all your measurements that way. There's only 5 shapes in that switch; an oval and 4 rectangles. 7 if you count the oval as another rectangle with 2 half circles on it. With just a bit of practice, that's a 20 minute design, if that.