Close

New to 3D Printing - Need guidance on modeling technique

Good morning!

As the title states, I'm new to 3D printing. I've been in design and engineering for 25 years and have most of that experience in plastic injection molding, die casting and steel forging. I'm more than familiar with solid and surface modeling and what it takes to make production tools for any of those methods so I'm hoping the transition to 3D printing at home goes pretty smooth. I just bought a new Monoprice Maker Select printer for home use and got it set up in a flash. It seems that they did a test print before shipping as there was a PLA butterfly already attached to the print bed when I unpacked it....as well as a jammed nozzle. I got it cleaned out and had my own test print going in about 25 minutes time. It all turned out well but now I've got some questions on how I need to model my own designs to use for this printer.

Two things stood out to me that I'm not familiar with how they work and I'm not sure of the terminology so I don't know what to search for:

1) The sample that I printed was a small elephant that was hollowed out and had a lattice structure to internally support the exterior walls. Is this type of structure done in the slicer program (Cura) on a water tight part or is it something I have to model in manually? I believe its referred to as "in-fill" so if it is I can read up more on that.