Close

Looking at building my first printer. A few questions

Hi everyone,

Im new to the whole 3d printer world and looking at building one to form a business. I am a design draftsman currently so know my way around autocad and inventor.

Im wanting to build parts for cars. Replacement parts that you can no longer buy and also new things. Anyway a few questions I have:

Has anybody ever tried to print a complete bodykit for a car? (fiberglass sucks so was hoping I could build something big enough and print entire bodykits?)

If so, what plastic would I need? It would need to have a little bit of flex to it.

What style of printer is best? From my research the only affordable and way I can see building something as big as I want is to use FDM.

What sort of finish am I going to be able to get? If im doing parts for cars to paint and finish how smooth am I going to be able to get the finish?

Is there anything else I need to know? A mate of mine has built a cnc router and is giving me his contacts for the extrusions and ballscrews I will need to build the frame easily.

Also to anyone who runs a business. Is there much of a market for 3d parts? Especially on the larger scale?

Thanks heaps guys,

Brad

Staff Engineer
    That sounds like an ambitious project. Have you ever built any machines before? Have you got a well-equipped shop with enough space to build something like this? It really helps to have machine tools for making all the motor mounting plates and other precision components that make the difference between a machine that works and one that just jams.