Close

Question Advise on how what and with

So, I'm new to the whole thing but have a general concept of the process. What I want to do is scam an item, be able to manipulate the dimensions in the software to create different sizes of the same thing basically and then create molds from that (manually inject soft/hard plastic).
    So whats the best way to accomplish that, such as what is a good scanner, software to use and printer of course. I was looking at using simulated ABS as the material to make the molds with to withstand the heat.
    TIA

Super Moderator curious aardvark's Avatar
    couple of things:
    what is simulated abs ? ie: what did you actually mean, there are a few predictive text substitutions in your post, that one is unclear :-)

Also abs isn't really that great for making moulds with. Ideally you'd want something with a higher glass point if you were thinking of injecting molten plastic into it.
    So a printer witn an all metal hotend that would run at 300c or higher would be a good idea.

Also scanning an object isn't necessarily the best way to digitise it. It's often quicker to measure it with digital calipers and design it from scratch in a cad program.
    Particularly if it has a lot of small or complex details, or needs internal structure

Were you to go the scan route then the only reasonably priced desktop scanner that actually works is the einscan system.
    Take a look at the einscan section for details and smaple scans people have done.
    http://3dprintboard.com/forumdisplay...n-S-3D-scanner

Realistically you're probably looking at somewhere around $3000 with a decent printer and einscan setup.
    There are a lot of cheaper scanners out there, none of them work. Well they work, just not accurately enough to be of much use.