Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Help printing 2-part case

I'm trying to print a 2-part case in ABS that i can screw together but every time I attempt to print it, it begins to warp on the corners I've added a large brim (10 outlines, 2 layers) and it still lifts. I've used hair spray to help adhesion but its still not enough.

Does anyone have any advice that way i can get a case that actually fits together correctly? I have Cura and Simplify3D and im working on Lulzbot Mini.

Super Moderator curious aardvark's Avatar
    how hot are you running the printbed, hot hot are you printing it, how fast are you printing it and why don't you just use pet-g or pla instead ??? :-)

I've tried running the bed at 85C and 90C. and I've ran the speed at 50 and 60mm/s. I could use PLA if its going to fix my problem. I'm fairly new to printing and mainly only use ABS, (boss seems to like it).

Ah then let me educate you :-)

Abs is one of the most difficult materials to 3d print with. Y
    you really, need an enclosed heated print volume, it shrinks like abastard and causes your prints to warp something wicked.

For 99% of pruposes pla is actually better. It's much much easier to print with, at least as strong as abs and more rigid.
    Pet-g is also a very good alternative. Has all the toughness of abs (though I've, personally found pla to be tougher than abs) and none of the drawbacks.
    It's also getting cheaper all the time. I can recommend e-sun pet-g, available from amazon.
    My pla of choice is reprapper tech - but almost any other brand should also be pretty decent these days.
    If you want the dog's bollocks then look at polymaker's polymax and these guys do a pla/pha blend that's very good value for money if you happen to live in the states.
    http://www.3dprintlife.com/

Because pla doesn't shrink to any noticeable degree you will find that models print the size you designed them at - rather than 1-2% smaller, like abs. It really can shrink that much.