Close

Thread: jagged lines

jagged lines

I'm pretty new to printing and while I have worked out a lot of bugs I cant seem to fix this one. On most prints it starts out fine and after several passes the lines become jagged and incomplete. I have tried changing filament,temp,nozzle height,speed all with no luck. The pictures show the issue. Thanks!

http://tinypic.com/r/33a74mt/9
    http://tinypic.com/r/20hawi0/9
    http://tinypic.com/r/257kepw/9

Student
    I'm only a plodder myself,but that looks to me like over extrusion.Have you calibrated your extruder?

Yeah, I mean its definitely possible I messed it up though. I figured that might have been the issue at first, but when I turned down the extrusion percentage it didn't get any better. I went down incrementally to 10% less. Also the issue is on and off. It happens on most prints but not on others. Even the same part can have the issue one time and not another with no changes in between. Most prints have the issue though.

MODERATOR NOTE: Late post due to delayed moderator approval
    Last edited by printbus; 09-16-2016 at 10:29 AM.

Super Moderator curious aardvark's Avatar
    wow that is pretty awful.

Check your belts are tightened, that's not just an extrusion issue. The head is not travelling in straight lines.
    I'd have to go for a mechanical fault, not a slicer issue.

Engineer-in-Training iDig3Dprinting's Avatar
    Follow iDig3Dprinting On Twitter Add iDig3Dprinting on Facebook Add iDig3Dprinting on Google+ Add iDig3Dprinting on Thingiverse
    It could be that your nozzle is far to close to the bed so that as it is laying out the filament it squishes out the side. is this a first layer issue or does it occur throughout a print?