Close

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Student

First 3D Printer - Some questions unanswered after lengthy research

Hello, guys.

I am new to 3D printers but am quite eager to get into it. I like to think of my self as keen outdoors man and enthusiast in many areas and self-design and customisation are fields definitely up my alley. That being said, I still have a number of questions that stand unanswered concerning my first 3D printer even after the bunch of resources I read.

The first thing that I'd like someone to clarify to me is how hard is the assembling of a DIY kit. I'm more inclined towards a kit rather than pre-assembled printer because based on what I read this would get me more acquainted with the unit and its processes. I google'd and youtube'd and based on what I found it doesn't seem overly complex as long as I follow the guidelines closely. Regardless, I'd like the opinion of someone who has actually gone through the process.

Cheers, Doc.

Unfortunately the answer is "it depends". It depends on the quality of the kit as well as your own ability and patience. I've assembled a number of different printers... some were incredibly easy, others frustratingly difficult... the difficult ones particularly because the parts were substandard or missing. As long as you're not in an incredible rush to to using your printer, given enough time you should triumph eventually. GOOD LUCK!

Engineer-in-Training
    Hi

I've built several kits and they all have been drop dead easy to do. Getting everything aligned and working right takes a bit, but none of the work is hard or crazy techno babble intensive. Figure you are spending a month of your time to really understand how your printer works. Unless you go to some pretty expensive gear, the results from a properly assembled kit are very hard to beat.

More or less:

Pick out a kit from a good outfit with good support. (Or plan on a lot more work).

Get the kit and set aside an area to do the assembly