Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Best software to use for 3D modeling & design?

Could anyone recommend the best software to use for 3D modeling? I am an artist but am just starting to get into 3D design for 3D printers. I don't want to spend a fortune on software, but at the same time I want something that is professional, and easy to use.

Jake

I use sketchup.com. It's easy to use and best of all it's free

There are a ton of free programs as well as professional paid programs. Here is a quick list 3d modeling software. Just Google the name for their sites.:

Free 3D softwares:

Google SketchUp
    3DCrafter
    3Dtin
    Anim8or
    Art of Illusion
    Blender
    BRL-CAD
    Creo Elements/Direct
    DrawPlus Starter Edition
    FreeCAD
    GLC Player
    LeoCAD
    Netfabb Studio Basic
    K-3D
    OpenSCAD
    Tinkercad
    Wings 3D

Paid 3D softwares:

3DS Max
    Alibre
    AC3D
    AutoCAD
    AutoQ3D
    Cheetah3D
    Cloud9
    FormZ
    Maya
    Magics
    NetFabb
    Rhino3D
    Solidworks
    ZBrush

Student
    Indeed, difficult to answer :-) Great list!
    Use the one you allready know, else you will most likely have to decide if you use a software suite that's made for CAD or organic modeling, usualy there is no all-in-one solution,... this does not mean you can't create a figurine in Sketchup or a gear in Sculptris...

I've been using a few. Once you master a couple softwares, you pretty much can master them all. Many are quite intuitive once you get to know the basic functions.

Student
    Zbrush....though...its not cheap.

Follow joealarson On Twitter Add joealarson on Facebook Add joealarson on Google+ Add joealarson on Shapeways Add joealarson on Thingiverse
    I'm a big believer in Blender. It's the all in one solution. It does drafting-like things. It does sculpting. It makes really good renders for selling your models. It may not be the best at any of it's part, but nothing has the same number of parts.