Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

3DPrintClean Enclosure - any experience with this?

Hi All,

We're getting bad fumes, even with PLA, in our small office room with no ventilation.

Came across this enclosure with "recirculating ultrafine particle and fume filtration."
    http://www.3dprintclean.com/

But before we spend this much money, wanted to know if anyone could speak to its usefulness

$1400 USD plus shipping for the small one.
    $1600 USD plus shipping for the big one.

Engineer-in-Training
    I have no experience with this product, however as chemical engineer I do have experience with scrubbing air to remove volatiles.

There are basically two pollutants that will concern you, fine particles (which you can't smell, particles don't bind to your odor receptors, only molecules can) and VOC's (volatile/gaseous molecules, which you do smell). Of those the particles are suspected to be worse for your health than the VOC's, even if you can't smell them. You will need a HEPA filter to remove the particles, and most likely active charcoal filter to remove the VOC's (the smell). The active charcoal will also bind some of the particles but may or may not be as effective as a good HEPA filter. Depending on the cutoff size the pores need to be small enough. Smaller pore sizes increases the pressure drop over the filter, so this might not be an option for a small unit.

The amount of material that active charcoal can absorb is limited. That means you will have to exchange the filter material on a regular basis, which means you will have more costs depending on how much the supplier charges for new filters (which most likely will be unique as to dimensions so that you can not second source them).