Close

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

New to 3D printing. Solidworks or Autocad for design?

Hi to the forum. I have had some experience in the past with using Solidworks for design of packaging for electronics, etc. I am an electronics engineer by profession (age 60) but I am by no means an expert with Solidworks. I have been reading that Autocad is also used extensively for 3D design for printing.

I don't have a prejudice against either and I am certainly not trolling. I expect that this topic has been discussed before.

I may even be missing a "better" solution for 3D printing. Hence my post.

Thank You
    Tom

Follow ServiceXp On Twitter Add ServiceXp on Google+ Add ServiceXp on Thingiverse
    I guess it depends on what you can afford? I have been learning Fusion360 and for makers and companies below 100K it's free. I've not used Solidworks, but if you can afford it I would go that route because you are already familiar with it.

That said there are TONS of options available, both paid and free.

Follow 3dex ltd On Twitter Add 3dex ltd on Facebook
    Yes I would go for Solidworks but at the end of the day they are both great pieces of software and it will depend on your preference.

Senior Engineer
    It also depends on what you want to do with it. I think you should explore someof the other options before you make a decision such as Blender, Openscad and Freecad to name but a few.

Whatever works for you is fine. Also, proprietry (i.e. paid-for professional software) is always better than freeware.

Super Moderator curious aardvark's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Sebastian Finke View Post
    Whatever works for you is fine. Also, proprietry (i.e. paid-for professional software) is always better than freeware.
    well find me a better version of openscad I can pay for - and I Will :-)

To say commercial software is 'always' better than freeware is definitely not the case.
    In many cases freeware does things commercial software doesn't.