Close

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Filament monitor for FlashForge printers

I had just posted about our Tunell filament monitor on the 3D printer parts forum, but I wanted to bring it especially to the attention of the group here -- the Tunell monitor was desgined specifically to connect easily to the FlashForge Creator (and other machines that have the 4-pin endstop cable Mightyboards and running Sailfish firmware). For those of you doing long-running prints or need production reliability, this device can pay for itself very quickly by detecting out-of-filament and other filament feeding problems, and pausing the printer. More details are on the Tunell monitor page at ToyBuilder Labs.

Thanks.

I'm new to 3D printing and like this upgrade.

But I'm wondering, if the print gets paused.....say for 4 or 5 hours....can you just restart a paused print with no problem?

Short answer is it's fine.

The more nuanced answer: because pausing the print may allows the part and the printer (heated bed, nozzle) to cool down significantly, there's a chance your part will shrink or warp enough that when the print is resumed, you could end up with seam lines and/or gaps at the point where the stop and restart happened. The extent depends on the amount of cooling and the material. In some cases, people use temperature-sensitive bed material that results in the print popping off the print bed when cool. If that's the case, long period of cooling can still result in a failed print, but at least you won't be running your printer continuously without fresh filament.

thanks. That helps

Follow ServiceXp On Twitter Add ServiceXp on Google+ Add ServiceXp on Thingiverse
    With my setup, pausing the printer for more than 20-30 min would kill the print anyway, and for 90 bucks (dual extruder) there is very little ROI versus a simple end of spool sensor connected to a MySensor.org sensor to send notifications. The price has to come way down for it to work for my setup.