Close

Student

New user needs help!

Hello,
    I am new to Makerfarm printers and this forum. I am almost done building my 12" i3v but have a few questions.

First is the heated bed wiring. I have the bed with the built in relay, the thick black power wires I have hooked up to V+ and COM on my power supply. The thin wires are connected to D8 on the RAMPS board. However, when I plug in the power supply, the RAMPS board doesn't turn on. On my other printers I have always run wires from the power supply to the two terminal blocks on the board, but as far as I can tell, the only two connections made on the power supply are to the heated bed.

Second is the bed reinforcements. These are only used on the 12", so the documentation on how to attach them is a bit sparse. I think they are supposed to face down towards the base of the printer when the bed is on the extrusions, but this setup limits my y axis build volume by about 8cm.

Thanks for any advice you can give me!

Add printbus on Thingiverse
    The heat bed with integrated relay is something new. First time anyone has mentioned that. I'd be curious to see a picture of the relay or MOSFET switch on the heat bed.

For RAMPS to work, you'd still have to connect the power supply 12v to BOTH the 5A and 11A terminals on RAMPS. The 5A connections would power the electronics, the motors, and the hot end heater. The 11A connection supplies power for the D8 circuitry used with the heat bed. Since the high current switching is happening at your heat bed, you don't need dedicated or heavy gauge wiring going to the 11A terminals. The 11A connections can be made with small gauge wire just jumpered over to the 5A terminals.

Can't help with the bed reinforcements.
    Last edited by printbus; 08-23-2015 at 11:26 AM.

Student
    Ok, I've got the power supply wired to the heatbed relay and the 5A and 11A connections on RAMPS. It turns on now.