Close

My first issue with replicator 2x

Hi everyone, I am fairly new to 3D printing. My workplace purchased a Makerbot Replicator 2x for me to use and to teach others how to use in a hackerspace type setting made specifically for high school students. I have made many prints successfully. I have leveled the build plate a few times (usually after moving the printer around the room).

A few days ago I attempted to print the right half of a simple part to see how tinkering with the infill setting would affect the print. I set it to the highest quality of .1mm and lowered the traveling and extruding speed each by about 20mm/s from the preset option for high quality printing. I set the infill to 65%. Everything seemed to be going well until about half way through when the filament appeared to stop sticking to the already printed filament. It kept extruding but just pushed everything off to the side. When it was done the part ended up about half the height it should have been even though it was not cut that way.

I leveled the build plate and tried a simple known to work print, the chain links pre loaded on the sd card. A similar thing happened. I unloaded the filament, made a new clean cut, and re loaded it. I made a simple 1cm cube and tested it with the same settings I had for the first failed part. It worked perfectly other than the bed temp seemed to be a little bit too high. I lowered it a bit and another print confirmed that the default 210 degrees Celsius was the cause of the warping in the small cube.