Close

3d Systems Cubify Cube

I am new to 3d printing and I guess I probably made my first mistake buying a 3d systems cube, had it for about 2 weeks now the previous owner didn't include some essential parts to make it work I had to source them on my own its activated in there name seller is useless for getting back to me about anything. Anyways all the internet complaints some are valid I guess. The printer does live up to the fact you can un box it and pretty much anyone can get it printing their test files. I knew it was locked down and had cartridges you had to buy. I had bad experiences buying "made in china" CNC machines off ebay so I wanted something from a big american company, tech support from china is awful if you don't speak there language.

Anyways my reason for posting is I was using the cube and I was downstairs it made some funky noises like it was jammed similar to when an item popped off and jammed the printer however by the time I got back to the printer it was powered off and was not jammed at all.

What I think is happening is something to do with the power to the printer it will be printing and then the power will just die allowing the print plate to slam down making some noise its done it about 3 times. I contacted 3d systems and there solution was to power cycle the unit, update the firmware or it was some kind of glitch. Not really happy about that reply contact them back see what they say tomorrow. I don't really want to update the firmware because right now I am able to use aftermarket filament and think they fixed that glitch with a firmware update. however they claim the firmware update improves the print quality. I doubt the firmware is backwards compatible ie once you update you cant go back? anyone running 2.08 firmware and are able to print with an empty cartridge using other filament?

Technologist
    Follow raysspl On Twitter Add raysspl on Facebook