Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

OpenSCAD - Solid parts not solid...

Newbie here. I am messing around with OpenSCAD and a Flashforge Creater Pro and have run into an interesting problem:

I am printing a tube with reinforcing fins inside to increase stiffness. When the fins are at o and 90 degrees, all is well, but when a fin is oriented at 45 degrees, the resulting structure is hollow(!). I have confirmed that the 45 degree orientation is the problem by successively commenting out the fins. The 0 and 90 degree ones print well and are solid. The 45 degree one results in both the fins and the surrounding tube being hollow.

In all cases, the slicing was performed in the same fashion.

Any thoughts?

module tube (od, thickness, length){
    // od = outer diameter
    // thickness = wall thickness
    // length = length
    difference(){
    cylinder(h=length, d=od);
    translate([0,0,length-.5]);
    cylinder(h=length+1, d=od-2*thickness);
    }
    }
    //--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    module tube_with_reinforcement (od, thickness, length, web_thickness){
    // od = outer diameter
    // length = length
    // web_thickness= reinforcement web thickness
    union(){
    tube(od, thickness,length);
    translate ([-od/2,-web_thickness/2,0]) cube([od, web_thickness, length]);
    rotate([0,0,90]) translate ([-od/2,-web_thickness/2,0]) cube([od, web_thickness, length]);
    rotate([0,0,45]) translate ([-od/2,-web_thickness/2,0]) cube([od, web_thickness, length]); <== THIS ONE CAUSES A PROBLEM!
    }
    }

Super Moderator curious aardvark's Avatar
    what numbers are you using ?
    Also you are using variables but I can't see anywhere to set them ?

What slicing software are you using ? If rep-g try makerware. never had any infill issues with that.

Definitely sounds like a slicer issue. Openscad doesn't do anything but solid.

A couple of suggestions....