Close

Delta Tower X, Y and Z co-ordinates

Hey Guys

Sorry for being a total newbie but I have spent several hours looking around the internet for information on how to work out these values and I simply cant find how.

I have a delta printer (Kickstarter kit) running Repetier firmware. It has an optical assisted calibration feature however after sever hours of running and re-running the calibration routine the calibration values are all over the place and not consistent.
    Therefore I would like to do the good ole paper style calibration using the manual scripts and Repetier. However I need to write the scripts to get the nozzle to the middle of each tower just above the bead.
    How do I work out these X, Y + Z co-ordinate values?

Every post/thread/website I read mentions the values and what to do to adjust the firmware to suit either concave or convex movement. I am yet to find somewhere that tells me how to actually work the values out.
    I dont know the measurements of the printer off hand but I do have a CAD file of the printer which I can measure from if that helps?

Any help greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Technologist
    Hi, not for the faint of heart but you might try the document listed in the first post of this link: https://groups.google.com/forum/#!to...ot/V6ATBdT43eU

I've been reading up on auto-leveling on the kossel and it is complicated quite a bit by the geometry of the printer itself. Most folks on the Kossel Pro forum have come to the conclusion that you are better off starting with a level and flat bed and let the autolevel routine compensate for issues with the geometry of the printer. The other issue discussed is that the arduino chip cannot make calculations with high enough precision to solve the equations.

Cheers,

KDog

Student
    I have a 170mm print bed on the Kossel and the following works well for me (you can create these as custom buttons in Pronterface)

X Tower - G1 F8000 X-60 Y-42 Z10
    Y Tower - G1 F8000 X60 Y-42 Z10